top of page

ONESIMPLETHING BLOG

Discover what we can all do to reduce our impact on the world. Follow my top-tips and simple guides all written to help you make a positive difference to the world. 

​

Because together we can.

  • Writer's pictureONESIMPLETHING

My Big Why

Updated: Jun 11, 2019

As crazy as it sounds my big why stems from my belief of if not me, then who?


#Onesimplething
If not me, then who?

When a gypsy first came to my door, not only did she know more about my life than I had really wanted anyone to know! She went on to tell me that my future, regardless of how I felt, lay in helping others... It was 2004 and the furthest thing from my mind was helping anyone.


I was so wrapped up in myself and my problems, that nothing else apart from my son mattered at all. My beautiful home was in truth, just a facade to the seemingly beautiful life that threatened me.


But in quiet moments, I had started to use my skills and knowledge amassed during my time working for some of the world's largest IT corporations to carry out research about the world and, more importantly into what climate change was, and how it was manifesting itself across the world. I was, I must confess a climate sceptic, I had no real interest, only to prove that my husband the man I most loathed was wrong.


But, it didn't take long for me to realise that not only was climate change real but, that it wasn't just about the weather, because #climatechange is about everything.


So, I began to write about my findings and as I wrote, it became clear that, the way climate change was being presented left the vast majority of people totally uninterested.


And I realised that if I was to do anything, I had to find a way to bring climate change in from the cold and present it in a way that people could not just relate to, but that could empower them so that they could get involved and make a difference to the world.



My research became my first website and, looking back, although it lacked the sophistication that we would expect today, it was really well received and people 'got it' and as it grew, I made the mistake of telling my husband.


I should have known to keep quiet, that any success would not be met with approval, joy or encouragement but like always!


I blurted it all out and like everything I loved or treasured it was destroyed, but I guess, the good thing was, I didn't give up. I wrote to publishers outlining a book and a year later I finally got a book deal hurrah or not...


It was around this time that I had another visit from my gypsy she wanted to come in. She knew I had no access to money and that I couldn't buy any of her things, but it was, she said, important. I remember it like it was yesterday, sitting on the pew in the kitchen hand in hand as she told me I had to leave my home within the next few months or, leave in a box.


I remember the utter panic, how could I? I had no money, I had no access to anything, I was a prisoner, little by little I had handed over my life and my personality to a man who had promised to love and care for me, but had, only sought to destroy me. The gypsy looked at me and assured me that there was always a way and that money wasn't everything - when the tears finally subsided I knew I had no alternative and, with the help of a friend I picked up my son and left.


Unlike physical abuse, mental abuse doesn't just stop, in fact leaving, almost became my downfall, and for the next 10 years, life has not just been hard, it drove me to the brink of suicide.

#onesimplething
Collect Moments Not Things...

Yet, sitting here today as broke as I am, I am grateful. For in losing everything I had and owned, I have, found my true path and that, no matter how hard it is, I know that it is worthwhile.


Years later, my gypsy did visit me again, incredibly she found me living in a remote village, I was by this time, almost a recluse. She was wearing the cartier watch that I had given her all those years ago, I must confess, I thought she would have sold it however, I was proved wrong and it was, she said, her most treasured possession even though she still couldn't tell the time.



She had come to tell me that a man was about to come into my life and that he would be my soulmate - my son and I laughed we had never heard anything so funny, I didn't go anywhere and I certainly wasn't looking for anyone so how on earth was anyone ever going to find me.


After a moment she smiled took my hand in hers and told me that my true path, was in educating the future...


One month later a man knocked on my door and that man is my soulmate and my true path is, I now know, educating the future...


Life is not a straight line, there are no hard and fast rules, sometimes we all face challenges that threaten us. Yet often times it is in the periods of darkness and despair where we find the strength we need to help us find our true vocation.


I didn't publish my book as I recognised, that if we want to secure a brighter future, then we need to educate our children about the world and give them the knowledge and tools they need to help them become global citizens, ready to face the challenges of the 21st century and that is why I created the Discovery Club - a club that delivers a joined up approach to education and learning that is fun, informative and brings the world to life.



And if you find yourself needing any help then drop me a note x


Christine x


58 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Subscribe

A journey of a thousand miles, begins with a single step.

Lao Tsu

bottom of page